892 Followers
160 Following
bookwormblurbs

Bookworm Blurbs

I absolutely adore reading - my love for books has had a huge impact on my life! I'm going to grad school to be a children's/YA librarian.

Compromising Willa - Blog Tour Review

Compromising Willa - Diana Quincy

England, 1805


Lady Wilhelmina Stanhope is ruined and everyone knows it. Back in Town for the first season since her downfall, Willa plans to remain firmly on the shelf, assuming only fortune hunters will want her now. Instead she focuses on her unique tea blends, secretly supporting a coffee house which employs poor women and children. If her clandestine involvement in trade is discovered, she'll be ruined. Again.

No one is more shocked by Willa's lack of quality suitors than the newly minted Duke of Hartwell. Having just returned from India, the dark duke is instantly attracted to the mysterious wallflower. His pursuit is hampered by the ruthless Earl of Bellingham, who once jilted Willa and is now determined to reclaim her.

Caught between the clash of two powerful men, a furious Willa refuses to concede her independence to save her reputation. But will she compromise her heart?

 



 

First of all, to anyone who's visiting this as a part of Entangled's Compromising Willa blog tour, welcome!!! I'm so excited to be a part of this; Diana Quincy is one of my favorite historical romance authors and I'm thrilled to be participating in the blog tour. If you're a historical romance fan and you haven't read any of her novels yet, I highly recommend checking them out - they're wonderful! 

About the Book: 

About the Book

Title: COMPROMISING WILLA

Author: Diana Quincy

EBook: 267 pages

Release Date: December 9, 2013

ISBN: 978-1622664146

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

 

I originally read this book back in December. It was actually one of the first books that I read with Entangled, and it really impressed me. As Book Three in the Accidental Peer series, Compromising Willa centers on the budding romance between Lady Wilhelmina "Willa" Stanhope and Grey Preston, Duke of Hartwell. Willa's reputation has been ruined, leaving her no choice but to wait for a suitor who's likely never to come and resign herself to her looming spinsterhood. To distract herself from her less-than-perfect future, Willa blends tea that she supplies to a coffee house which employs less fortunate women, but even this past time must remain secret, as engaging in trade is not considered to be proper. Somehow, amidst all the scandal, Willa attracts the affections of the new Duke of Hartwell. However, despite the growing attraction between the two, their romance is hampered by the evil Earl of Bellingham, who refuses to allow Willa to be claimed by anyone but himself. 

About the Author: 

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she'd rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed.

 

Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love her Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is "Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable...Equal parts action, passion and fun."

 

Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows. Diana loves to hear from readers. You can follow her on Twitter @Diana_Quincy or visit her website at www.dianaquincy.com

 

To learn more about Diana's upcoming books and for sneak previews and other special exclusive giveaways, please consider signing up for her quarterly newsletters at www.dianaquincy.com. Diana understands your information is private and promises NEVER to share it with anyone.

Website/Blog/Twitter/Facebook/Goodreads/Pinterest

 

Review: 
 

This romance was definitely a page turner! There was never any question that Willa would end up with the duke, who is usually referred to simply as Hart, but Quincy still managed to keep me wondering about how everything could possibly fall into place. Willa was the perfect historical romance heroine. She's smart and longs for independence. She doesn't recognize her own beauty. She's been ruined by means of a misunderstanding and although her situation demands that she be rescued, she refuses to take the easy way out. She reminds me of several other romantic heroines that I've read about, but I like her so much that I didn't mind. Fittingly, Hart is the perfect love interest for Willa. He's gallant yet imperfect but at the end of the day, he's exactly what Willa needs and her interests are at the center of his heart. He makes mistakes but always earns Willa's forgiveness, and his obvious love for Willa endeared him to me. And Bellingham, the evil earl, is a villain that I loved to hate. He was SO bad!! I loved the way that Quincy introduced him to us - at the start of the book, he appears to be the love interest, but soon we learn of the absolute dread that Willa feels whenever she sees him. And when we learn why she hates him so much, we come to hate him, too. Without giving away any details, I'm happy to assure you that he meets a most satisfying end. 

 

The plot centered entirely around the romance between Hart and Willa. Personally, I prefer romances with a bit more depth to their conflict, but Entangled Publishing requires authors in their Scandalous imprint to focus on the process of falling in love, so Quincy really can't be faulted for following their instructions. Because it was required of her, I didn't decrease my rating of the book because of the lack of a greater conflict, but I think it's worth noting that I personally would prefer some focus other than the relationship between Willa and Hart. That being said, there were definitely a lot of complications in Willa and Hart's relationship and this added to the plot development. Quincy revealed their secrets to the reader without info dumping, which is ALWAYS very much appreciated! 

 

As the imprint category suggests, this book was full of scandal. Willa herself suffers from the impact of the scandal in her life and this has a huge impact on the plot of the book. But additionally, some of the scenes between Willa and Hart get quite steamy! If you're interested in that, you'll probably enjoy this book. 

 

Overall, this book was enjoyable to read and it was a great way to unwind from finals week. I would definitely recommend it to any historical romance fans. Although this is the third book in the Accidental Peers series, you do not need to read the preceding books in order to follow the story line - I didn't read them and I understood the story just fine. However, after reading this, I went back and read the first two installments and I loved them, too! I'll definitely be looking for more from Diana Quincy in the future! :) 

 

Disclaimer: I received an advance review copy of this book from Entangled Publishing, but in no way did this influence my review. 


Original review.

Giveaway Details:

1 Paperback of Tempting Bella, 1 tin of Compromising Willa Custom Tea, and a $10 Starbucks Gift Card! US Only.

3 eBooks of Compromising Willa International

Rafflecopter Code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rafflecopter link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTIzODliYTI4ZTEzMGVjODBhNzA2MmFmMTU3YWM3OjE1Nw==/

 

Tour Schedule

 

Week One:

2/17/2014-Michelle Chew Writes- Review

2/17/2014- Simply Ali- Scavenger Hunt

2/18/2014- Bookworm Blurbs- Review

2/18/2014- herding cats & burning soup- Interview

2/19/2014- Margay Leah Justice- Review

2/19/2014- Curling Up With A Good Book- Scavenger Hunt

2/20/2014- Ramblings From This Chick- Review

2/20/2014- Sapphyria's Book Reviews- Guest Post (Top 10's)

2/21/2014- BookGroupies- Review

2/21/2014- Romantic Reads and Such- Scavenger Hunt

 

Week Two:

2/24/2014- Always Reiding- Review

2/24/2014- Fade Into Fantasy- Scavenger Hunt

2/25/2014- The Gal in the Blue Mask- Review

2/25/2014- Fab Fantasy Fiction- Interview

2/26/2014- What I'm Reading- Review

2/26/2014- Ex Libris- Scavenger Hunt

2/27/2014- Becky on Books- Review

2/27/2014- Reviews by Crystal- Guest Post (Top 10's)

2/28/2014- The La La Land of Books- Review

2/28/2014- Talking Books Blog- Scavenger Hunt